Early voting for primary election starts Thursday | News

Early voting for the May primary election starts Thursday.

Primary elections determine who within each political party will move on to run in the general election in November for particular races. Some of the races, because there are no candidates from opposing political parties, will be determined during the primary election.

One of those races is the 36th prosecutorial District Attorney. The race will see Republican incumbent David Learner pitted against Republican Scott Reilly. Because no Democrat filed to run for the seat, the race will be decided during the May 8 primary.

Other races on the Republican ballot for the primary are:

» U.S. House of Representatives District 11 (one seat) — Incumbent Mark Meadows and challenger Chuck Archerd

» Burke County Board of Commissioners (two seats) — Incumbents Wayne Abele and Maynard Taylor will face challengers Gary Kling and Jennie Cook.

On the Democratic ballot for the primary election will be:

» N.C. House of Representatives District 86 (one seat) — Tim Barnsback and Robert Griner

» U.S. House of Representatives District 11 (one seat) — Phillip Price, Steve Woodsmall and Scott Donaldson.

While regular voter registration has ended, folks will still be able to register during early voting only. Those who are already registered to vote cannot change their political party affiliation during early voting, said Debbie Mace, director of elections for Burke County.

Those registered unaffiliated can choose the ballot on which they want to vote.

Early voting sites will open at 8 a.m. Thursday and will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Early voting ends at 1 p.m. on May 5, which is a Saturday.

Early voting sites are:

» Board of Elections Office on S. Sterling St, Morganton

» Burke County Senior Center on Green Street, Morganton

» Glen Alpine Town Hall on Pitts Street

» Rutherford College Town Hall on Malcolm Boulevard

» Hildebran Library/Senior Center on Main Avenue West

Curbside voting will be available to people who are physically unable to enter any early voting sites, Mace said.


Sharon McBrayer is a staff writer and can be reached at [email protected] or at 828-432-8946.