Native Trailblazers Announces 2017 Native Trailblazers Music Awards Winners: Country Star Teagan Littlechief Wins #1

Native country music artist Teagan Littlechief has just been announced as the overall top indie artist for the 2017 season’s Native Trailblazers Music Awards. The announcement was made on the Native Trailblazers Radio Show on Friday February 3rd.

The announcement of several Native indie music award winners were made on the Native Trailblazers radio program that airs each Friday at 8pm est. Winners included Brendt Diabo, Shawnee Talbot, Simon Moya-Smith, Rob Saw, Witk0 and more. The submissions were played back in 2017 for a Native indie music showcase and the names of the musicians were posted on the Native Trailblazers website where listeners could vote.

The number one indie artist, Teagan Littlechief, was recognized Friday and will receive PR support and a show segment on Native Trailblazers.

The additionally-named top five indie artists were Indian City, Twin Flames, Brendt Thomas Diabo, Rob Saw (Both Diabo and Saw tied for third,) Simon Moya-Smith and Shawnee Talbot.

For the past eight years, the Native Trailblazers radio program—an online radio show that has featured Native American topics and is hosted by Delores Schilling, Vincent Schilling and occasional co-host Michael Bucher—has had an annual series of shows highlighting today’s independent Native artists from every genre to include folk, hip-hop, country and electronic, traditional and more.

In addition to the Native Indie artists, the Native Trailblazers radio show has also featured a long list of Indian country notables to include Smoke Signals director Chris Eyre, Indian country icon Buffy Sainte-Marie, Mr. Las Vegas Wayne Newton, political leaders in the U.S. and Canada, tribal leaders, tribal elders and much more.

Since first airing in November 2009, Native Trailblazers has entertained hundreds of thousands of listeners. The show was also nominated in 2011 and 2013 for an Aboriginal People’s Choice Music Awards, now called the Indigenous Music Awards or IMA’s.

Native Trailblazers is on BlogTalkRadio, an online radio site that receives millions of visitors daily. For more information about the Native Trailblazers radio show which airs Fridays at 8 pm EST, visit the website at or listen Fridays at

The show’s 437 episodes are also available anytime on the BlogTalkRadio site in archives or as a free downloadable podcast on iTunes.

Here is the list of the 2017 Season Native Trailblazers Music Awards winners:

Native Trailblazers Music Awards TOP ARTIST

Teagan Littlechief (Country) –

Top 5 Native Trailblazers Music Awards Winners

Indian City – (Contemporary Rock) –

Twin Flames (Contemporary Rock) –

(Tied for third place)

Brendt Thomas Diabo – (Contemporary Rock) –

Rob Saw (Drum / Native Americana) –

Simon Moya-Smith (Alternative Rock) – /

Shawnee Talbot (Alternative, Electronic) –

Native Trailblazers Music Awards Crowd Favorite

Witk0 (Hip Hop) –

Native Trailblazers Music Awards Artist To Watch

Roger Cultee (Contemporary Rock) –


You can follow the show and hosts on Twitter:

Delores Schilling –
Vincent Schilling
Michael Bucher –
Native Trailblazers Radio Show