Presidential Election 2017: Meira Kumar to file nomination papers today in presence of Sonia Gandhi

New Delhi, June 28: Meira Kumar, the Opposition nominee for the Presidential Election 2017, is all set to file nomination papers on Wednesday morning, also the last day to file nomination, at the Parliament House in New Delhi. She will file the nomination papers in the presence of Congress President Sonia Gandhi and other Opposition leaders. CPM leader Sitaram Yechury and TMC’s Derek O’Brien will also be present as Kumar files her nomination papers. The Presidential Election are scheduled to be held on July 17.

On Sunday, Meira Kumar had appealed to members of the electoral college to “heed the inner voice of conscience” while casting their votes in the July 17 election and said the President’s office “cannot function to serve narrow political interests”. She debuted on the micro-blogging website Twitter on Monday.

Earlier on June 23, the presidential candidate of NDA Ram Nath Kovind filed his nomination papers in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and party veterans LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi. Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states were also present. Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edapaddi K. Palaniswami were also present during the filing of the nomination.

So far, 64 nomination papers have been filed for the Presidential Election 2017, including that of Kovind. Interestingly, as one candidate can file a maximum of four nominations, the actual number of candidates is much less at 57.

Reportedly, the returning officer had rejected some nomination papers on the spot as they did not have the mandatory Rs 15,000 security deposit and a certificate that the candidate was a valid voter of any of the Lok Sabha constituencies.

If reports are to be believed, except Kovind’s and Kumar’s, the other papers are set to be rejected during scrutiny on June 29 as they lack the names of 50 proposers and as many seconders.

Apart from Kovind, a Patel couple from Mumbai, Saira Bano Mohammed Patel and Mohammed Patel Abdul Hamid, have filed the nomination for the Presidential Election 2017. They wish to share the post of the president and the vice-president among themselves.

Famous as ‘Election King’ K Padmarajan from Salem in Tamil Nadu has also filed nominations for the presidential election. He has contested over 150 polls.

The Presidential Election 2017 will be held on July 17. The counting of votes is scheduled for July 20. Term of President Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 25.