Vincent Smith to chair political party funding committee

Rustenburg – ANC MP Vincent Smith was elected the chairperson of the ad hoc committee on the funding of political parties on Wednesday, the party said.

“The committee is mandated to enquire into and make recommendations on funding of political parties represented in national and provincial legislatures in South Africa with a view to introducing amending legislation, if necessary and in so doing consider a model of public and private funding for political parties; and the need for, and possible means of, regulating private funding in all its forms as well as investment entities owned by political parties,” said spokesperson Nonceba Mhlauli.

The ANC also appointed, N.N. Mafu, D.E. Dlakude, L.M. Maseko D. Gumede, B.T. Bongo and C.N. Ncube-Ndaba to serve on the committee. 

Vincent Smith will chair the party funding committee. Picture: Henk Kruger

The committee was expected to report back to the National Assembly by November 30.