Will County Candidates For March 20, 2018 General Primary

JOLIET, IL – If you attended the 20th annual Light Up The Holiday Parade along downtown’s Chicago Street, you couldn’t help but notice the packs of Will County politicians who were working the crowd on Friday night, Nov. 24. It may be almost Christmas, but it’s also Will County’s campaign season. A number of key political offices within Will County government are up for grabs in 2018 including the sheriff’s position.

Here are the candidates who have filed to have their names on the election ballot for the March 20 general primary election. The following information comes from the office of Will County Clerk Nancy Schultz Voots, who is retiring and not seeking reelection in 2018. The candidate filing period was November 27 through December 4.

RELATED: Nancy Schultz Voots Announces Her Retirement


Lauren Staley-Ferry, of Joliet, Democrat

Denise Mushro-Rumchak, of Crest Hill, Democrat

Laurie McPhillips, of Plainfield, Republican


Steve Weber, of Mokena, Republican


Jim Reilly, of Wilmington, Republican

Mike Kelley, of Lockport, Democrat


Shawn Walsh, Elwood, Democrat


Board Member District 1 (residents will vote for two people)

Judy Ogalla, Monee, Republican

Bob Howard, Beecher, Democrat

Laurie Summers, Crete, Democrat

Katrina Deutsche-Vaclavik, Crete, Democrat

Board Member District 2 (residents vote for two people)

James (Jim) Moustis, Frankfort, Republican

Keith Ogle, Frankfort, Republican

Cory Singer, Frankfort, Republican

Amanda Koch, Frankfort, Democrat

Board Member District 4 (vote for two people)

Kenneth Harris, Bolingbrook, Democrat

Jacqueline Traynere, Bolingbrook, Democrat

Board Member District 5 (vote for two)

Gretchen Fritz, Plainfield, Republican

Darren Bennefield, Plainfield, Republican

Meta Mueller, Aurora, Democrat

Mazyar Hedayat, Plainfield, Democrat

Board Member District 6 (vote for two)

Don Gould, Shorewood, Republican

Debbie Militello, Channahon, Republican

Joe VanDuyne, Wilmington, Democrat

Board Member District 7 (vote for two)

Stephen Balich, Orland Park, Republican

Mike Fricilone, Homer Glen, Republican

Kyle Killacky, Homer Glen, Democrat

Board Member District 9 (vote for two)

Annette Parker, Crest Hill, Republican

Danganetta Harris, Lockport, Democrat

Norbert Likar, Crest Hill, Democrat

Jim Murphy, Crest Hill, Democrat

Todd Randich, Crest Hill, Democrat

Rachel Ventura, Joliet, Democrat

Sherry Williams, Crest Hill, Democrat

Board member District 11 (vote for two)

Charles “Chuck”‘ Maher, Naperville, Republican

Kathy Havel, Naperville, Republican

Julie Anne Berkowicz, Naperville, Republican

Suzanne Hart, Naperville, Republican

Michelle “Mimi” Cowan, Naperville, Democrat

Image of Will County Office Building via Will County government